bomb in my kitchen!

With India virtually becoming a bomb mine, I found one in my kitchen too yesterday. I should have talked about the cooking gas woes in my last post…

There is an ongoing shortfall of cooking gas supply and one needs a minimum of ten days advance booking before gas cylinder is delivered to doorsteps. I booked my gas cylinder on 21st of this month but ran out of it yesterday afternoon. My pleading to the haughty “gaswalla” to deliver it yesterday, met with rude calculations of TEN days. I was not entitled for one because it’s still nine days of booking!! Silly yet stubborn.

I and Sachin decided to have the “Clix” gas as a temporary arrangement. Off we went shopping but couldn’t find the brand so ended up buying one with the name and logo of “Bharat” gas. The authenticity appeared doubtful. We got it checked by the shopkeeper, it was fine and he was all blah-blah about its safety and high sale. Sachin left for office from there to attend some important meeting. I came back home.

It was nine o’clock before I could get into the kitchen after putting Atharva to sleep. As soon as I rotated the switch on…WUUF there were tall flames from in and around the burner that greeted me like some devilish ginie from a bottle!!

I was shocked and numb for a second, tried to keep my cool by reassuring myself that it would go down next moment. But it did not! The cylinder was landed at the kitchen platform and something at the back of my mind was shooting continuous signals of “it might blast”. Thank God Atharva was sleeping away in a room but yet I needed to shoo away this ticking bomb from his vicinity. Something screamed– take it out into the balcony(!) and without giving it a second thought I clutched the one foot bright red cylinder with both my hands, obviously with leaping flames, racing heart and rushed to the balcony. As I was holding that red bomb in my hands my heart was screaming “it might blast – it might blast!!!” and I will be shredded into pieces. But that’s how most of us supposedly react when in an emergency situation—I mean foolishly.

The bomb did not explode though the flames were getting hungry for more. WATER!! the next signal I received, so gushed it with a bottle of water in the hope of dowsing it. But it was another of the foolish effort to dowse a fire fueling itself from LPG. It tamed down though but looked waiting to pounce once the opportunity. Shit! The balcony has a clothes line full of clothes. I have time coz they are all of Atharva’s little clothes hanging and far from the fires reach.

Did I mention that the lights went out the moment these flames started on? What I believed for a few seconds was that the flames might have hit the wires and caused a short circuit but once in balcony I found the whole area in darkness. Bloody powercut!!

Oh I had no difficulty running around with so much to light my ass!!

Barged in to call Sachin who responded by saying “Stop joking”. Grrrrrr….

His next reaction was take Atharva and rush out. But I knew I can’t. That would be irresponsible! I needed to douse the flame or the losses would be too high.

I wanted to call the shopkeeper who sold me this, but then chucked the thought as stupid for this moment.

I rushed out of my apartment, holding an emergency light, to my neighbour for help. She was clueless about these kinds of cylinders but suggested we should ask the other neighbour. We both rushed to her and the other one seemed familiar with these.

We all three went inside our apartment now glowing with golden light from the balcony. Once a look at the situation and the strength of the flames our neighbour was deterred to lay her hands on it. All she kept on repeating “need rotate the switch off”. But the metals were too hot to touch. Suddenly the tongs flashed in front of my eyes and the next moment they were in my hands. Gathering some strength from these two ladies, I went closer to the cylinder to turn it off. The first try, was met with wild retaliation, but by now I had accumulated enough courage and went on rotating it till it died down.

A heavy sigh of relief from we all three!!

Next was to thank God.

The next, the usual women chattering of what, why and how and what if…..

Both my neighbours are luckily ever ready to help with one suggesting I cook in her kitchen and the other giving her extra cylinder till I get one.

Have to mention that she immediately delivered the cylinder at my kitchen with the help of her son and the other neighbour brought a lovely masala dosa she cooked, for me to eat and calm down and she made sure the new cooking cylinder was properly connected.

It took me hours before my limbs would have stopped shaking and my head dizzying.

A good night sleep helped and I am still living in one piece to tell this tale.

Moral of the story: DON’T buy if the authenticity is a doubt.

20 thoughts on “bomb in my kitchen!

  1. lazybug

    The brave house saves the day. 😉

    I can understand how you must have felt. As a kid I was always scared of the gas cylinder. I rmr the first time my neighbour asked me for help to replace an empty gas cylinder…I was shit scared, to say the least.

    Reply
  2. prityjaiswal Post author

    @sriniani: Do you know how the bomb disposal squad diffused bombs in Surat? They did that in the middle of madding crowd and without proper protection gear!! Why do u want to include me in such a squad?

    Reply
  3. sriniani

    I said you are so bold that you deserve to be in one, not include you in such a team. I am your friend yaar!

    Reply
  4. Bhamoti

    Yes …. I cannot but agree with Srinivas Sir. It actually takes a lot of courage to hold a burning cylinder in your hands and take it to the kitchen. Had it happened with me … I would have done as Sachin had suggested ….. let it be the way it is and rush out of the place!!!! Kudos to Prity !!! for such brave show!!!

    Reply
  5. prityjaiswal Post author

    @Bhamoti: what I now find stupid has the world praising me for bravado!! kya zindagi hai!

    Reply
  6. santhosh

    Brave show Prity. I guess that was an innovative idea of the terrorists to create havoc– supply exploding gas cylinders to unsuspecting people.

    You also deserve a Red & White Bravery Award.

    Reply
  7. prityjaiswal Post author

    @santhosh: how do u know it was the terrorist’s idea? You may be an unsuspecting link!!
    Waise Thank You for the award. How much cash do I get?

    Reply
  8. mona

    Does anyone live in a subdivision where there are several people who ignore the subdivision rules?
    I do. No one is supposed to have those ugly fences on the top of their pools, and it seems that everyone in the sub with a pool has one of those. My neighbor has one, and I have to look at that hideous thing every time I look out my window. Then there is my other neighbor who has three dogs.
    The maximum number of dogs is supposed to be two. I wouldn’t mind the three, but two of them are pit bulls who viciously snarl and growl and act like they are going
    to eat my dog when they are outside. Even the owners scream at them to stop. It is very unnerving. Then one of the board members is delinquent by 3 years on the dues because she has decided she doesn’t need to pay since she is on the board. I can’t take the neighbors around here. I was looking for a forum to vent about the jerks around here and I came across this site called http://urajerk.com and I sent all of those idiots on the board and all my lovely neighbors with the ugly pools an anonymous card. LOL I loved it. I know it sounds stupid but I feel better. He he he

    Reply
  9. vinay

    Lakalakalaka!

    Superb adventure. I enjoyed reading the whole episode. There is a saying “Don’t believe ladies and gas stoves.”

    Reply
  10. Sridevi

    Well done Prity..:-)). I know the kind of nervousness and perplexed state of mind one would experience at that moment, as I too have gone through such situations.., if not so scary but similar to it.. Blessing in disguise, Atharva was sleeping at that time..

    Reply
  11. sachin

    It was stupid cum an act of bravery…
    Please dont repeat ur bravery act in future, jaan hai to jahan hai…Anyhow the writing is too good ..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

